Quick Links
Skip to main contentSkip to navigation

Arapahoe-Holbrook Public Schools

Board of Education


Ajax Loading Image


September 10th Board Tax Request Hearing

Arapahoe-Holbrook Public School

Board of Education – Tax Request Hearing

Conference Room

September 10th, 2018 6:45 pm


President Dennis Roskop called the hearing to order at 6:46 pm.


President Roskop announced that the Arapahoe-Holbrook Board of Education follows the rules of the Open Meetings Act which is posted. 


The following members were present: Chad Carpenter, Dennis Roskop, Brad Schutz, and Lisa Anderson.


The following member(s) were absent: Dan Warner and Rodney Whipple.


Also present was Dr. George Griffith, Superintendent, Bob Braithwait, Principal, and Cassie Hilker, Board Secretary.  Visitors were present.


Roskop stated that he thought Whipple was running late, but would be here as soon as he could.


A motion was made by Carpenter and seconded by Anderson to excuse the absence of Warner.  AYES: Carpenter, Roskop, Schutz, and Anderson.  Motion carried 4-0.


A motion was made by Schutz and seconded by Anderson to approve the agenda as presented.  AYES: Roskop, Schutz, Anderson, and Carpenter.  Motion carried 4-0.




President Roskop opened the hearing for discussion on the 2018-19 Property Tax Request.  Griffith stated that published notice is the same as what is being presented tonight.  The tax request for the general fund is $3,251,593.09 at a rate of $0.687314.  The tax request for the bond fund is $873,737.37 at a rate of $0.184688.  There are no tax requests for any of the other funds.  The total levy is $0.872002.  That is the amount needed to fund the budget as presented in the previous hearing.  Anderson asked if the rates from the other Districts had been set already as presented on a worksheet.  Hilker stated that the rates were not set, but that is what the other Districts stated they were planning to recommend. 


A motion was made by Schutz and seconded by Anderson to adjourn the tax request hearing at 6:59 pm.






Respectfully submitted,

Cassie Hilker, Board Secretary